The Sioux Lookout Community Museum was founded in 1967 as a part of the Sarah Vaughan Public Library and Museum. However in the library there was little room for displays and no fixed staff so the artefacts were kept in storage most of the time. In the 1970's a larger display was mounted in the Moose Hall which had roughly 1000 people in attendance. With such a large number of visitors at the exhibit, there was a clear desire in the town for a permanent museum space. A board was formed, a space was selected and two buildings were refurbished to house the collection. The space was officially opened in 1981 and continued to be operational until 2011 when it was closed due to the inadequacy of the facility to protect and preserve the artefacts. The collection is currently in storage and has been displayed in a variety of shows in different venues around the town.
This online exhibit serves to showcase a select number of artefacts from the Museum's permanent collection. Drawing from our rich cultural history, this exhibit contains artefacts from our First Nations communities, our local industries and the families that have called our community home.